Nanaimo Winemakers 2016 Competition

In Social by Dave BurtLeave a Comment

Nanaimo Winemakers 2016 Varietal Competition

After two years without a wine judging competition, we are finally bringing this event back, thanks to Doug Markin volunteering to serve as Chief Steward, and his desire to run a competition this spring. The date has been set for March 5th and will be held at the Cavallotti Lodge in Nanaimo. Anyone affiliated with the British Columbia Amateur Winemakers Association (BCAWA) may enter their wines and entry is via the BCAWA website (, select “Wine Competition System”), but hurry, the closing date for online entries is February 22. Instructions, rules, and wine drop-off locations are posted on the BCAWA website.

Here is a synopsis of how the day will run:
* 9:00 am – 1:30 pm: Judging of the various flights of wines (2 judges and 1 steward per judging table)
* 6:00 pm – 7:00 pm: Appetizers and tasting of medal winning wines
* 7:00 pm – 10:00 pm: Catered dinner, desert, and awards

There will also be a silent auction which will be open from 10:00 am until part way through the banquet dinner.

This is an exciting time for us wine enthusiasts – a chance to have our wines assessed by qualified judges, to gain feedback on our efforts, and share our best with peers and friends.

The silent auction helps fund the event and is the result of generous donations from local persons and businesses. We are grateful to the following for their donations:

  • Nesvogs Meats, Terminal Park, Nanaimo
  • Winestine Wine Works, Nanoose Bay, Albert Tomasson
  • The Wine Works, Nanaimo, Blair Dillen and Fiona Berry
  • Northgate Liquor Store, Nanaimo
  • Dominion Lending Centres (Vanisle), Elaine Peligren
  • Coldwell Banker Realty, Tim Peligren
  • Mon Petite Choux Café, Nanaimo
  • Home Hardware, Nanaimo
  • McLean’s Specialty Foods, Nanaimo (Eric and Sandy McLean)
  • Cindy and Mike Scott
  • Don and Jo Graham
  • Peter Huyghebaert
  • Doug Morrison
  • Helen Waring
  • Neels du Plessis
  • Duane Lukyn
  • Franco and Jane Sartor
  • Doug and Cathy Markin
  • Brian and Jan Rodonets
  • George Beck
  • John Znider
  • Dave Burt

Leave a Comment